‘Fessing up and learning from my mistakes!

Oh gosh this whole epublishing thing is a real rollercoaster!  I was on such a high when I published High-Heels And Slippers in July, thrilled to actually sell some copies and convinced that I had edited every typo away.

I downloaded my own copy immediately, so that I could read it through on my Kindle and check it.  But I felt physically sick every time I opened it up.  Really.  I just couldn’t face it. So I chickened out and put it to one side.  It was utter cowardice on my part, I admit.

Then slowly it transpired through chatting with various friends who had bought copies (THANKYOU SO MUCH), that there were indeed still some errors lurking in there – AARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  (Although luckily, this did not seem to mar their enjoyment of the book  – phew!)
Now I felt sick, for a different reason – I was embarrassed that I had succumbed to my impatience (I was a tad over-excited) and published my book without making another final edit. I had spent a substantial amount having it professionally edited and formatted, so I had assumed it would be ready to publish.  But actually that was part of the problem – every time a manuscript is handled by someone else an opportunity for correcion AND ERROR is opened up.  The responsibility for the final edit has to lie with the author. 

I’ve chided myself for being a wimp, learned my lesson and vowed not to make the same mistake again!  And now I hope that I have managed to get rid of all the typos, although I’m sure there must be one hiding in there somewhere!!!

1 Comment

Filed under creative writing, fiction, novel, publishing, writing

One response to “‘Fessing up and learning from my mistakes!

Leave a Reply

