The Results Are In!

I didn’t win the contest.  😦    But I did get some very useful feedback – some of it great, some encouraging and some more critical (and more hard to swallow) but  – and here’s the main point I guess – ALL of it was totally valid and hugely welcomed!  And after I had recovered from my bouts of sobbing (boo-hoo!) I managed to pick myself up and have a think about reformatting the first chapter.  Which I’m currently doing and I have to say I’m really enjoying it!  

I’d like to say a big THANK YOU to the Miss Snark’s First Victim  for providing such a great opportunity (check out her hugely helpful blog @ http://misssnarksfirstvictim.blogspot.com/, to the Secret Agent  for her valuable feedback, and to the other contestants for sharing their own work and comments. 

 Hearty congratulations to the winners! 🙂 

It can be tough putting yourself out there, asking total strangers to comment on your writing and it’s easy to take it badly when you don’t find that everyone gushes effusive praise for your work (but it’s a total rush when someone loves it of course!)  Deep down we are probably all searching the infamous lucky break and when it doesn’t come it’s hard not to feel a little down-hearted.  But I think Nina Badzin’s recent post –  http://ninabadzin.com/2011/03/28/you-will-never-publish-a-word/comment-page-2/  – serves as a good reminder that hard work and perseverance carry a lot of weight in this writing business. 

One thing is for sure:  if you give up you most certainly won’t get that book deal, on the other hand, if you keep going, you just might! 

“You’ve got to be in it to win it!” 😉

2 Comments

Filed under creative writing, fiction, novel, Uncategorized, writing

2 responses to “The Results Are In!

  1. Thanks so much for the mention! 🙂 Nina

  2. You’re welcome! Your post came at just the right time for me – it got me going again – thanks for that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

