But …oh… those summer ni -ghts!

Well evenings actually! It has been a glorious weekend for weather here in Texas.  Hot, sunny,with a cool breeze – reminds of the south of France – it’s a joy to be outside and we should make the most of it because it won’t be long before it gets so hot and humid that being outside for more than half an hour without access to a pool will become unbearable. 

Usually I am, I must admit, a fan of rain.  All kinds –  it doesn’t matter as long as it’s wet!  Although I do rather like the fine soft drizzle you usually get in the Lake District or Welsh Valleys, the kind that creates a lovely soft patter on the outside of an anorak or tent. Ah bliss! 

Having said that, the sun this weekend, along with the roses blooming in the garden, has lifted my spirits and I am inspired to write this evening.   I have recently reworked the opening chapter of High-Heels And Slippers.  Now it’s time to make sure the edits are squeaky clean and tackle some query letters.

My son is working his way through a box of frozen Spongebob Gogurts.  He thinks I can’t see as he scuttles inside and rummages in the freezer.  I can of course, but who cares? The bird’s are chirping and there’s a baby bunny rabbit foraging around the lavender bushes.  My skin is baking, warm like a loaf of bread and I am carefree! 🙂  Because soon the sun will begin to set.  I will bath the kids and tuck them up in bed.  Then I’ll pull out the bottle of Riesling currently chilling in the fridge, and in the cozy quiet of the evening, I will work at my laptop as the puppy snoozes by my feet.

If you are lucky enough to find some quiet writing time – enjoy! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under creative writing, fiction, novel, publishing, Uncategorized, writing

2 responses to “But …oh… those summer ni -ghts!

  1. So happy for you! We spent the day flying kites before taking six squealing little girls to the lake for a boat ride and subsequent dip in the “no, it’s not too cold” cold water. Write my friend! Write!

  2. Oh sounds fun Machelle! I know I’m getting old when I wimp out at getting in cold water – my kids will carry on regardless it seems! 🙂

Leave a Reply

