Book Blog Tours – an opportunity you should take advantage of!

When I published my book in the summer, I realised that I was going to have to take charge of marketing and getting it out there to the public.  It was a tad daunting to say the least! But thankfully there is someone out there who can help: Samantha Robey at CPL Blog Tours  – http://www.clpblogtours.com/.  For, what I thought was a very reasonable price, she will organise an online book tour for your book.  This means it will be reviewed and featured on several blogs.  High-Heels And Slippers! was featured on fifteen different blogs. You may even have the opportunity to write a guest blog piece or take part in an author Q&A.   All of this is fantastic exposure for your book and increases your profile as a writer.  Added to that, hopefully, if your book is well received, you will have some great reviews which may lead to more sales and you can use them for further advertising.

I found Samantha to be professional, extremely efficient and great at communicating.  She’s also a writer herself, which means she understands her clients’ needs.

She has recently published her first novel, Destined To Fail.  You can buy a copy here: http://www.amazon.com/Destined-to-Fail-ebook/dp/B005XNI560   

Samantha was kind enough to take part in her own Q & A for me which you can read below.  You can also click on this link to find out more about her blog tours: http://www.clpblogtours.com/    

I would definitely use her services again and I urge you to consider doing the same!  Thank you Samantha! 🙂

Samantha Robey Q&A

As a book blog tour coordinator you must have read plenty of book reviews! What advice would you give someone about to write their first ever book review?

I am flashing back to when I wrote my first book review for Chick Lit Plus, which was for The Agency by Ally O’Brien on October 16, 2009. Wow, long time ago! My advice would be to try to just be you in your writing. When I first started reviews, I thought I had to sound really stuffy and knowledgeable and use industry words and have a dashing tagline at the end of each. That did not last very long. Now, my reviews reflect my personality and let me have more fun with each review that I write.

What do you think are the benefits for putting a book on an online book tour?

The exposure you receive. With CLP Blog Tours, I have had authors be found by national magazines through the tour site alone, which was super exciting to me – and her! But it’s also a chance for bloggers to meet you, and then their followers to meet you. The internet is one big hangout – you just have to join the party!

Has anyone ever submitted a review you felt you couldn’t publish?

Thankfully, no. I know the majority of my Fantastic Bloggers really well, and continue to get to know and enjoy working with the newbies to the group 🙂 I have read book reviews on other sites and even Amazon that just cut down the author and make me want to cry for them. I do let my bloggers know that if they don’t think they can give a positive review, they have the option of choosing a Novel Spotlight instead. That way, the author is still getting the exposure, but without an unfavorable review. I do think there is a difference though between a negative review and one that gives constructive criticism. As an author myself, it’s impossible not to expect an unfavorable review, and I think there can be helpful ones.

You have also recently published your own book, Destined To Fail.  Did you always know you were going to write a book? 

Yes. I knew from the time I was a little girl that writing was I wanted to do. In truth, I thought everyone wanted to be a writer. It took me years to figure out that not everyone can spin a story – and I don’t just mean fiction. I wrote killer essays in school and did it with barely a thought. I wasn’t just book smart, I had a way with words – or so I was constantly told. When I was in high school, I finally caught on that maybe I was talented at this thing called writing and should pursue it. I’m so happy I did.

Some writers are creatures of habit and follow the same writing routine every day; is this the way you work?

In a way, yes. I like to write in the mornings, and I always have a set goal each day. Sometimes it’s a word count, other times it’s finishing a section. And I wrote my first book in the same fashion that I am doing for my second. Write out the whole first draft, then come back and start slashing with my red pen. Some like to edit while they are writing, and I just can’t do it. I would get too caught up in the edits and miss the flow of writing.

What was it like to receive your first book review? 

Mind boggling. I was writing book reviews for two years when I got my first review. It was surreal to read what another person was saying about my characters. I never thought that way as “just” a book reviewer. I spoke about the characters, like and dislikes etc, but to read someone talking about my characters took me to a whole new level. It was very touching, and quite emotional. I cried, of course.

What advice could you give to other writers considering epublishing their work?

Take your time, make sure you have everything 110% before hitting publish.

Do you have a favorite writing-snack?

Ice cream! I think that’s just my favorite overall snack. I’ve been trying to get healthier, and lately I have been eating a lot of crackers and cheese when I take my breaks.

Which writer, alive or dead, do you most admire and why?

Always a tough one, but I have to go with my favorite of all favorite authors and say Ann M. Martin. She was such as inspiration to me since I was a young girl fascinated by the Baby-Sitters Club.

If it’s raining outside are you wearing a raincoat or carrying an umbrella?

Usually it’s just the raincoat. Or really, a sweatshirt with a hood. I did have a really cute black umbrella with pink polka dots, and the wind ruined it one day. So now it’s the sweatshirt!

If the presenters of the TV show What Not To Wear turned up at your place of work, with the $5000 gift card and offer of a style makeover, would you be outraged, mortified or relieved? 

Relieved! I would gladly welcome them in. My sense of style bores me, but I have no idea how to change it. Come on in!

4 Comments

Filed under Chick Lit, creative writing, fiction, novel, publishing, self discovery

4 responses to “Book Blog Tours – an opportunity you should take advantage of!

  1. Thank you so much for letting me talk about myself Ella 🙂 I can’t wait for your next book!

  2. My book blog tour was such a great experience! Thanks so much Samantha! 🙂

  3. I HIGHLY recommend Samantha and her tours! She’s extremely professional and very helpful thorough out the entire process. And my book sales increased, too!

  4. Hi Denise! I agree completely 🙂

Leave a Reply

