My new friend…

…is a lizard! Well I’m not actually sure it’s a lizard, could be a gecko but the fact is he/she turned up on the wall of my hallway yesterday evening and since then it keeps disappearing and popping up all over the place. 

Now I’m happily going to admit, that the first time it ran across the wall I shrieked and the dog went crazy!  I grabbed a plastic container and made a rather wimpy attempt to catch it.  My children were watching and I was trying to do the whole “I’m your mother, I can handle it” act (actually not sure why I bother with that because my kids see right through me. Kids have a habit of doing that don’t they?)  So I’m there waving Tupperware, which used to hold cookies and is now poised to hold gecko and all I’m thinking is that I have to get this reptile out of my house because…well because it’s not normal to let geckos, and the like, roam wild in your home is it?

But then he hid behind a mirror and I didn’t want to take it down to get it, because,first of all, the mirror is this spiky, arty thing made of brass so it’s quite heavy and, secondly, we are just about to put our house up for sale and I didn’t want to risk marking the paintwork!

So,much to the horror of my children, I left him there and when my husband went to look, the gecko was gone.  Later we spotted him high up, hanging out on a window ledge and then after that he scuttled across the wall again.  I haven’t seen it since…but I know it’s here somewhere. 

And actually (by the way I’m surprising myself here) I find that I quite like it. I quite like the fact that my little lizard friend is hanging out somewhere, just chillin’ up there on my wall. I got to thinking that Leonard The Lizard (eek! – I’ve named him now) is a metaphor for the twist and turns of life itself. Just like my new scaly chum (hmm…do reptiles have scales? Not sure…I’ll google it in a mo but for let’s go with it for now) the passing of time is always there in the background, it’s a presence you can put on a back-burner but never fully ignore. But just like Len (we’re so close now I’m comfortable abbreviating his name) an opportunity might race in front of you and show itself and your job then, is not to try and catch it so you can remove it, but to run with it, to watch it, to learn from it and use it. We get the most from life when we’re open, when we shift our perspective.  I mean I didn’t necessarily want a gecko scaling the walls of my house but at the moment I do happen to have one and … I’m ok with it!

So the question is…how have you shifted your perspective recently? Are you letting the Len in your life roam free? Share your story and tell us about an opportunity, or gecko, you ran with recently! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My new friend…

  1. Hi, Ella! The first gecko/lizard (like you I’m not sure what to call them) is a little shocking to the system. But it’s amazing how quickly you adapt and the little buggers grow on you. I just had one get stuck in the recessed lighting in our living room last week, (I kept hearing this scratching noise and it was freaking me out a bit, until I saw his tail) but with the aid of my son and a tall ladder, we were able to catch him. (Tupperware was our cage of choice as well).
    I’m not sure how they get in, but they sure can rile up a house full of kids!

  2. Hi Kym – good to know I’m not alone! I keep looking for him today but Len appears to be avoiding me 😦 I think what really comes out of this is that Tupperware are missing a marketing opportunity! 😉

Leave a Reply

